Newsletter Checklist

The-Sample-Newsletter

Newsletter Includes:

  1. Required Disclaimer: “This is the (Month Year), issue of the (Name of Publication), a publication of the (Name of Branch or other organization) of the Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc. (SCA, Inc.). (Name of publication) is available from (modern name and email- address of chronicler). It is not a corporate publication of SCA, Inc., and does not delineate SCA, Inc. policies. Copyright © (ModernYear) Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc. For information on reprinting photographs, articles, or artwork from this publication, please contact the Chronicler, who will assist you in contacting the original creator of the piece. Please respect the legal rights of our contributors.”
  2. Name and contact information of the local branch’s officers: This includes SCA name and Legal name, and the official e-mail address for their office. If, for some reason, an officer chooses not to use the official e-mail address, he or she must send a disclaimer giving the Chronicler permission to publish their personal e-mail address. 
  3. Times and locations for regularly scheduled meetings(A&S nights, fighter practices, guild meetings, etc.): Can be a list or a traditional calendar, whatever works
  4. Credit for all submissions: this includes all text submissions except officer reports and contact information (ie. Articles, recipes, poetry, etc.) and including all artwork (drawings, photos, heraldry, maps, clip art etc.). Either give credit as a caption near each submission or set aside a “Credits” section.

Correct File format:

  • ​Sent as a PDF
  • File name format – “Group Name” “Year” “Month” Newsletter.pdf

Sent before the 5th of the month to the following people:

  1. ​The King of Ansteorra (king@crown.ansteorra.org)
  2. The Queen of Ansteorra (queen@crown.ansteorra.org)
  3. The Prince of Ansteorra (when there is one, prince@coronet.ansteorra.org)
  4. The Princess of Ansteorra (when there is one, princess@coronet.ansteorra.org)
  5. The Society Archivist (archivist@sca.org)
  6. The Kingdom Chronicler (kingdom@chronicler.ansteorra.org)
  7. The Kingdom Historian (historian@chronicler.ansteorra.org)
  8. ​The Regional Chronicler (Norther, Central, or Southern @chronicler.ansteorra.org)
  9. Baron & Baroness (Where applicable)
  10. Branch Seneschal (seneschal@ INSERT GROUP NAME.ansteorra.org)
  11. Branch Webminister (webminister@ INSERT GROUP NAME.ansteorra.org)

Distribute to Populace

  • ​Branch Facebook group
  • Branch Website (work with your webminister)
  • Branch email listserv (where applicable)